Skip to main content

Beasts of the Walking City

Coming in August, 2012: Part fantasy, part thriller: this roller-coaster ride through another world will appeal to fans of George R.R. Martin Naomi Novak, Patrick Rothfuss, and Lev Grossman...

It’s not easy being a color-shifting, bourbon-loving Beast, even when you can travel between your own world and Earth’s past. Even when you’re working for the gangster Al Capone.

Now, Blackwell is on a one-way trip into the ruins of a flying city to steal an ancient craft from one of his world’s biggest gangster families—a family you just don’t want to cross. But the ship is just the beginning, and Blackwell isn’t prepared for everything that comes next. First, he's hunted by a cult who wants to wipe his race out for good. Then, he’s a pawn stuck between powerful families at each other’s throats. Who can he trust? There’s the beautiful and seductive double-agent named Mircada who will steal his heart? A huge fire-belching family kingpin named Nadrune who wants him for her pet? The mysterious woman Kjat, who loves him—and who’s filling up with crazy demons from another world? The crazed general who’s after him for revenge? (Not him, at least that's pretty clear.) Then there's the mystery of a legendary flower that once belonged to his race, a flower that might change the world—if only he can find it.

Beasts of the Walking City is fast-paced, funny, sexy adventure with steampunk cities that float and walk and fly, exploding gangsters at each other’s throats, pyrotechnic magical battles, time travel, crazy new alien races and the fate of two worlds hanging in the balance.

Coming soon to your Kindle via Amazon.com...

About the Author

Del Law is Doug Lawson, who's writing has appeared in a number of publications, including Glimmer Train Stories, the Sycamore Review, Passages North, repeatedly in the Mississippi Review, and has received an Honorable Mention from the O. Henry Awards anthology. His first collection of stories is available via Amazon.com or a bookstore near you. Doug's next collection of short fiction “The Mushroom Hunter” is forthcoming in 2014 from Red Hen Press. A reluctant world traveller for his day job in Silicon Valley, he lives now with his artist wife, two kids, two dogs, and eleven chickens in the California’s rural Santa Cruz Mountains, about a mile from the San Andreas faultline.

Doug/Del can be contacted directly through his blog at http://houseonbearmountain.com.

Popular posts from this blog

Solar buggies

Thank you, Glimmer Train!

Many thanks to Glimmer Train Stories, for picking my story, The Mushroom Hunter, as the winner of their 2012 Fiction Open Competition!

If you're new to my blog, welcome!  Here's a post to get you started.

And here's what the story looks like in GT.

Story: The Night Witches

Months before the fire—the big one that cuts up through the homes in our hills like a plane through a flock of doves—I see Rochelle in the street. It’s a Sunday. She has her hand in some guy’s pocket. Her hair is paler than I remember it, and it hangs down around her face like she still cuts it herself. She is tanned, broken-in, like she’s been living outdoors all these years.
“Is that Rochi?” I ask Hope, forgetting that Hope never knew Rochelle.
Hope is pointing out the pneumatic metal ostrich to Noah as it hisses and clanks past us. He studies it from up on Hope’s shoulders with a look like he’s swallowed a spider. It’s a moment of summer in Santa Cruz as drawn by Miyazaki: creatures of many colors leap and strut and caper in the street. Pyrotechnic children and dogs with wings grin from alleyways. Cosplay cyborgs loom in doorways. Shops are filled with clockwork angels and satyrs on stilts. Demons with mechanical jaws and painted breasts laugh and hoist lattes. A Victorian house roll…